Since my first year at Point Park when I shadowed Mell Steven-Cosnek at the YWCA, I have wanted to be more involved. After some trials and tribulations this year, I applied to the YWCA's Development Department for their Development Internship. I got the interview and immediately found out that I got the job. I am so excited to start working with this amazing nonprofit organization on Monday!

My semester will be filled with many exciting projects. The Tribute to Women lunch is quickly approaching, the donor files are overflowing (and in need of organization), and my fellow intern and i will be collaborating on even more projects. I will be working Mondays, Wednesdays, and some Fridays from about 9 to 5 at the office on Wood Street. I'm excited to be working down town all summer, right across from Point Park. 

This opportunity will hopefully allow me to get some real world experience in development, learn some valuable fundraising skills from my boss Ellen Sheppard, and learn about some of her intricate databases. Planning annual events, writing grants, and soliciting individual gifts will all be on the "to do" list this summer. I can't wait to get started. You'll be hearing more shortly!

Take care, 
Amie



Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca