Day 13: Monday June 24th - 9am to 5pm

This day was basically a repeat of last Wednesday. I worked some more to develop our social media and schedule posts for the upcoming week. 

Day 14: Wednesday June 26th - 9am to 3:30pm

Below are some pictures from the EITC folders I put together for Laura and Ellen to send to local technology companies asking for a donation. The Educational Improvement Tax Credit allows companies to donate $100,000 to an approved non-profit program and write off $90,000 on their taxes. This is where a huge portion of the TechGYRLS program funding comes from. 

One of the sheets in the folders were printed at AlphaGraphics, so I got to go on a bit of a walk to pick them up as well as drop off a few things along the way. I put together about 25 of these folders and then did some research on companies to send them to. The YW has a list of companies that they solicite every year, but this year we worked on a new list. There were about 105 companies that I went through and found contact information for. I was also responsible for determining the ask amount. I researched stock prices and the company size to determine the amount we should ask for on these "cold calls". 

The next step was to  create a mail merge of the solicitation letter with the information from the spreadsheet. I had never done a mail merge before, so this was a great skill to learn.

Fun Facts by Ellen:
  • Always enter data into a spread sheet in the smallest and most consistent fields. This makes a mail merge much easier. 



Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca