Day 18: Wednesday July 24th 9am to 5pm

Last week I was unable to come into the office, because I was at the beach! The beach is my absolute favorite place, and it was great to spend a week there with my best friend and our mom's. And of course on the way back we stopped in DC for the weekend to see baby Talia. She's getting so big! (Pictures below)

When I got back to work on Wednesday, I had a bunch of various jobs to work on. The first was the Day of Giving. I went through the YW's profile from last year to make all the updates I could. I changed the list of names under the board of directors, editing the programing, and even the statement from the CEO. Laura, who normally fills out information like this, helped me determine a budget number to include and make sure that I had everything correct. 

My next job was working on request letters for the Young Leaders Board event, Cocktails for a Cause. I had previously completed a mail merge for the companies for which I had contact information. But, there were some companies without any. I created a more general letter and did research to find the proper department at each company. I then addressed these letters to a Manager within that department and sent them out hoping for a response. 

After a few other random jobs, I spent the rest of my day creating a PowerPoint template for the entire YWCA Greater Pittsburgh to use. Consistency has been an issue within the YW's communications, and Ellen thought that if all PowerPoints were created within the same template, we could start to create a consistent look for the organization. It turned out really well. I based it off of the YWCA USA's official PowerPoint template, yet made it our own. 

Fun Facts by Ellen:
  • Always search for the answer, read everything, and double check, before asking. 





Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca