Day 22: Monday August 19th 9am to 5:15pm

Monday was one of our biggest successes with a post on social media. We have 20 clicks on the bitly link for the "Disney Princesses for Equal Pay" YouTube video (below). Throughout the morning the office was buzzing with talk of this video. Our CEO, Maggie, thought it was hilarious and brilliant, as did I. After posting this video in a tweet and on Facebook, Ellen called me into her office. We talked about the word "we" and my use of it in the posts and in emails. 

Also on this day, I updated changes in the Young Leaders Board contact list and I mailed all of the tickets out to the members. Kim, one of the Young Leaders, asked me to create a spreadsheet to keep track of which tickets I gave which members. 

Fun Facts by Ellen: 
  • Don't use the word I in an email if at all possible. Simply saying "attached is the ..." instead of "I have attached the ..." is better. 
  • This allows you to achieve your largest goal in the office... Make your boss look good. 
  • Not including I allows the person you are contacting to believe that you were not the one doing all of the work. 
Day 23: Wednesday August 21st 9am to 5pm

Wednesday was also a really great day for social media. When looking for some additional content to blog about in the morning, I stumbled upon the hashtag #hijabuppropet, which means hijab outcry. This movement began after a pregnant woman in Sweden was attacked for wearing a hijab. Women (as well as men and children) around the world dawned hijabs and took to twitter to voice their support for this woman and women everywhere. I encourage you to search the hashtag #hijabuppropet on twitter and read more about this amazing movement. 

Some of my other tasks this day included creating a job description for a social media volunteer, having a meeting with Ellen about old projects, researching mobile apps for photo releases, and updating the Tribute to Women planning calendar. 

Fun Facts by Ellen:
  • Manage your emails, don't let your emails manage you.




Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca