Day 21: Wednesday August 14th 9am to 5pm

On Monday, I had to take the day off to move into my new apartment! It's much nicer than my last place, but unfortunately up two flights of stairs... It was a LONG day. 

But, on Wednesday, I came back to the YW and got back to work. The day consisted of a bunch of smaller tasks, mostly for Cocktails for a Cause. My first task was to order the raffle tickets for the grand prizes. Through our efforts of request letters, the Young Leaders Board secured a one night stay at the Renaissance Hotel with breakfast, a one night stay at Bedford Springs also with breakfast, and an iPad mini. These items were part of the more expensive raffle. Each ticket was $10. The Young Leaders Board members each have 18 tickets to try to sell prior to the event. 

Using last year's tickets as a model, I ordered 250 raffle tickets for this years event. The site I used was kwiktickets.com. It was pretty easy to use, and it gave you a preview of what your ticket would look like. I sent the copy for the tickets to Ellen, Kim and Amber for approval, then ordered them with the YW credit card. Since the tickets will not be in until later this week and we want to get them out ASAP, I also addressed envelopes to send them to the board members. 

The remainder of my day was spent working on social media. I scheduled content for this week and next (about 30 tweets total). I also decided to start using bitly to shorten links instead of the built in link shortener on HootSuite. This will allow me to track the amount of clicks per link and to reuse the same link when tweeting about the same thing multiple times. This should help to track the success of our social media posts. 



Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca