Day 15: Wednesday July 3rd 9am to 5pm

On Monday, I took a surprise day off after the first Great Grandchild was born on my mom's side of the family. We took a spur of the moment trip to Washington, D.C. to see baby Talia! She is beautiful! 
Now back to my internship... This Wednesday started off a bit different that normal. The Heinz Endowments has a program for youth to give out grants to fund projects they are passionate about. The theme is sustainability. On Tuesday, I got a call from Ellen about an information session Wednesday morning that someone needed to attend to get the RFP (request for proposal). She thought I would enjoy the experience, so I went to represent the YWCA. 

The session was at the Children's Museum. Each group of high school students presented their ideas from projects to the people interested in applying for them and then information was collected to receive the RFP. It was interesting to hear about everyone's ideas and see several people from Shaler (my alma mater). One project perfectly fit with our TechGYRLS program, so we are going to apply. 

I completed a bunch of tasks this day once I got into the office. It was a very busy week. I prepped for a social media meeting with Ellen and Courtney on Monday morning. I reviewed our membership research to present at the meeting as well. I also made some more of the EITC packets, since they ran out last week. And right before I left I started a mail merge to ask for donations for the Young Leaders Board event Cocktails for a Cause. 

The main portion of my day was spent editing the content on our Pittsburgh Foundation Day of Giving profile. This day encourages people to give to registered non-profits by matching a portion of their gifts. 

Fun Facts by Ellen:
Ellen took the time to explain the four types of foundations to me.
  1. Private - created by individuals, own board, own mission statement
  2. Corporate - sometimes independent of the actual corporation. Ex. Alcoa. Sometimes they are tied to the profit and loss statement of the company. This makes the amount donated smaller and less consistant. 
  3. Community - involved in giving back. A lot of individual foundations make it up. Community foundation manages them financially. Has investors. Development officers encourage people to establish funds. Giving officers determine who gets grants. Can be as small as $10,000 to invest. 
  4. Company - established through companies. Trusts. Wealthy people give money to investment companies and the companies give to organizations. 



Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca