Day 19: Monday August 5th 9am to 5pm

This week my main job was to create a request for the Robinson Foundation. I was able to use older requests as examples, pull some of the copy from them, and also do my own research. I used GuideStar to learn more about the Robinson Foundation and what they have given to in the past. We also looked closely at how much they have given, and what would be an appropriate amount to ask more. Ellen helped me a lot with this project. She really showed me all of the different resources that I could use to make the best request possible. 

Day 20: Wednesday August 7th 9am to 5pm

On Wednesday, Ellen and I went through the proposal word for word. We restructured almost every sentence to make it the most effective. One of the main goals was to shorten the letter, in an effort to make it more readable. This was a great learning experience. We also spend some time focusing on the pictures we included, what segments would be pulled out in block quotes, what order to put the paragraphs in, and what sentences to put in bold. Every aspect of this letter was well thought out, looked over, and then looked over again. Below is the final product. 



Leave a Reply.

    Amie Hackimer

    This is my blog about my internship this summer and fall at the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. I'm a senior at Point Park University majoring in Sport, Arts, and Entertainment Management and looking to focus in nonprofit development. I am interning at the YWCA in the development department under Ellen Sheppard. 

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Internship
    Ywca